The Chicago Strangler — New Serial Killer. Old Story.

Chicago has the largest cluster of unsolved strangulation murders in the US. That’s not a coincidence. It’s a pattern.

Alexa Baczak
5 min readDec 31, 2021
Some of the victims as of 2018. Source.

In 2019, after years of murders, the Chicago Police finally acknowledged there was a likely a serial killer in Chicago targeting primarily Black women and are investigating the cases as related.

The first murder was in 2001 with the most recent in 2018.

They are all women, with many being sex workers, and are normally found strangled and dumped in old alleys, abandoned buildings, or trash cans. They are found in three distinct areas: Chicago’s south side, west side around Garfield Park, and along the Green Line (public train).

To be more specific, Chicago is broken up into regions and those regions into neighborhoods. When I say “south side Chicago,” I mean the region of Chicago below the Dan Ryan Expressway. Garfield Park is a neighborhood in Chicago’s west side.

Since I’ve lived there, I sometimes forget that not everyone speaks Chicagoan. You can find a more specific map here.

While I normally cover historical true crime cases, I don’t feel there’s a point in being a true crime writer if I don’t help spread awareness that may…

--

--